Scroll Top


For Immediate Release: June 4, 2019

Contact: Nancy Jackson (213) 978-1960

As a result of independent spending, the expenditure ceiling was lifted today in the special primary election race for City Council District (CD) 12.

Candidates who participate in the City’s matching funds program must limit their campaign spending in both the primary and general elections.  The expenditure ceiling for participating CD 12 candidates in the primary election is $537,000.

The expenditure ceiling is lifted and no longer applies in a particular race when independent spending reaches a certain level, which is $86,000 supporting or opposing one candidate for the June 4 special primary election. As of today, independent spending totaling $170,958.74 has been reported in the CD 12 race with $96,763.12 supporting Stella T. Maloyan.

Independent spending occurs when a person incurs certain costs for a communication that supports or opposes a candidate or ballot measure and the communication is not coordinated with or authorized by a candidate.  In the 90 days prior to an election, a person must report independent spending and provide a copy of the communication to the Ethics Commission within 24 hours of making or incurring the costs.

Fifteen candidates qualified to appear on the ballot for the CD 12 special primary election, and all but three agreed to participate in the matching funds program.  As of today, five candidates have qualified for and received matching funds, and no candidate has reported expenditures in excess of $367,000.

Additional information about the candidates, independent spending, and political communications in the CD 12 special primary election is available on the Election Totals page.  Campaign activity and political communications may also be searched on the Public Data Portal.

To download PDF, click here.

The Ethics Commission was created by Los Angeles voters in 1990 to impartially administer and enforce the City’s governmental ethics, campaign financing, and lobbying laws.

Share this page:

Ethics Commission